Ambient Aura

Click here to edit subtitle


The word Chakra literally translates to wheel in Sanskrit. In meditation and yoga this term refers to wheels of energy throughout your body. These swirling wheels of energy correspond to nerve centers in the body.
There are seven main chakras, which are in line with the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown chakra on the top of the head. Each of the main chakras contain bundles of nerves as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being.
Try to imagine a swirling wheel or disc of energy. This invisible energy, or Prana, is an important force, which keeps us vibrant and healthy. It is therefore very important that we keep our chakras aligned and spinning. It is also important to keep our chakras opened which is much easier to do if you meditate and have awareness.
Spirit, mind, soul and body are very much connected and if you can become aware of an overactive or under active chakra it will help to keep your whole body in balance!

So where are they? What are they called? What do they do?

The first three chakras, starting at the base of the spine are physical in nature. The last are spiritual in nature and the heart connects the two.

1st Chakra: (The Muladhara) or Root chakra is the chakra of security, and our basic needs. It is located at the base of the spine and is red. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and grounded.

2nd Chakra: (The Svadhisthana) or Sacral chakra is our creativity and sexual center. It is located just above the pubic bone, but below the navel, and is orange. It is responsible for our creative expression. If blocked can lead to emotional problems.

3rd Chakra: (The Manipura) or Solar Plexus chakra is in the center of the body, between navel and breastbone and is yellow. This chakra is our source of power (personal). If blocked can manifest as anger.

4th Chakra: (The Anahata) or Heart chakra and it unites the lower (physical) chakras with the upper chakras (spirit) its almost like a bridge between the two and is our source of love. It is green. If the heart chakra is blocked it can show as a lack of compassion.

5th Chakra: (The Vishuddha) or Throat chakra and as such governs our ability to speak the truth and express ourselves clearly. This chakra is blue. A blocked throat chakra can lead to miscommunicating.

6th Chakra: (The Anja) or Third eye Chakra is Located between the eyebrows. This chakra is connected with intuition. If blocked you will not get that 'gut feeling' or instinct. This chakra is indigo. For me it is important that this chakra and the crown chakra remains open.

7th Chakra: (The Sahaswara) or Crown chakra is located at the top of the head. The 7th chakra is your connection to spirit and your higher consciousness. It is violet in colour.

How to unblock your chakras!

So having read the above you may well be thinking that you have a chakra or three blocked and you may be right, so how do you unblock them?
Chakras respond well to music, crystals and meditation and can quite easily be aligned by using just one or all of these things. My go to would have to be meditation and there are some very good free chakra guided meditations available online on sites such as Youtube. The beauty of a guided meditation is that if you are very new to meditating all you need do is find a quiet spot and listen.
Meditating is not a quick fix and you may need to do it a few times to get the hang of it but if you persevere you will soon find the feeling that you are left with will become quite addictive! You will also notice positive results in many areas of your life by doing this one simple thing and I urge you to have a go.


Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.